An Open Door to Design: Cartagena, Colombia

September 15, 2014 § Leave a comment

Hi everyone! Recently, I was lucky enough to travel to Cartagena, Colombia to attend their Bridal Week which was hosted by the Sofitel Santa Clara. The event was wonderful, the hotel was gorgeous but the city was more than I could have ever imagined! If it wasn’t for the humidity I might have almost forgotten to breathe as I snapped away with my camera lens trying to capture all of the inspiration I could. Everywhere I looked around me was a vignette I couldn’t live without documenting (I am that person on a trip–always with my camera out!). The small cobblestone streets, the colonial architecture complete with balconies filled to the brim with bright pink and purple flowers that overflow from the second story windows, the sidewalks barely large enough for two to walk side-by-side which forces a closeness amongst the people, the mini taxis buzzing around the streets and the double doors that are painted beautiful hues with lines and textures that only weather and time can help create…Cartagena is a magical place! Most of the magic for me, however, was in the doors and the door-knockers. I was mesmerized by the ironwork and colors and just couldn’t get enough. Here are some of my favorites:

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

 

SONY DSC

DSC02095DSC02093

 

DSC02261

 

SONY DSCDSC02080DSC02105DSC02166SONY DSCIMG_7457IMG_7440IMG_7462DSC02253As always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat! I hope you enjoyed these images as much as I enjoyed capturing them and sharing them with you. Please come back to read more info about my experience in Cartagena! XOXO Jen

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Open Door to Design: Cartagena, Colombia at A Fresh Coat.

meta

