Recipe: Cauliflower Crust Pizza! Healthy and Delicious!

June 9, 2014 § Leave a comment

IMG_6589This weekend I was stuck inside not feeling so great but I did manage to take a walk to Trader Joe’s and grab some ingredients to make cauliflower-crust pizza. I’ve been hearing about the creative ways you can substitute cauliflower for low-carb recipes (mashed “potatoes” and Alfredo sauce are two others I want to test) and I finally decided to give it a try! I LOVE pizza and would probably eat it every day if cheese and bread weren’t horrible for you in mass quantities! I ended up using a recipe I found from a blog called Glow, which of course I modified just a bit to suit my taste buds. I found this recipe to be worth the extra time it took to make because it was extremely tasty and so much healthier than regular pizza. In all fairness, I also made plain old pizza dough for my date and I just in case the cauliflower recipe didn’t turn out so hot–we both really enjoyed this version though and I vowed to make it again!

Have these items out and ready:

Food processor
A lot of paper towels
Parchment Paper
Coconut Oil Spray (or any non-stick cooking spray)
Cookie sheet

Ingredients

1 head cauliflower, cut in small sections
1 cup low-fat skim shredded mozzarella cheese
1 egg
2 tablespoons minced garlic
salt and pepper to taste
Tomato sauce
Toppings for pizza (I used onion, pepperoni, green bell peppers, tomatoes)

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Place cauliflower in food processor and process until the texture resembles rice or coconut shreds. Don’t over-process as this will leave you with mush. We don’t want mush.

3. Pour cauliflower in a large bowl and heat in the microwave for 6 minutes.

4. Grab your roll of paper towels and get ALL of the moisture out of the cauliflower. I was amazed at how much water was in there but it really needs to come out or your crust will have to bake longer or possibly suffer a mushy fate. I did this for a while and my crust wasn’t too sturdy at the end so take heed!

IMG_6579

mix ingredients

5. Mix 1/2 cup mozzarella, egg, garlic and salt and pepper into the cauliflower until it is well-mixed and becomes slightly sticky.

6. Place parchment paper on cookie sheet and spray with non-stick spray.

IMG_6580

raw crust

7. Place dough on the tray and flatten out so that the crust is even. You can expect your dough to have about a 12-14 inch circumference.

8. Bake the dough for about 30 minutes. The time may vary depending on how much water was left in your cauliflower–mine took about 35 minutes for the edges to start to brown.

baked crust

baked crust

IMG_6584

added my toppings

9. Once the crust is ready, take it out and apply your sauce, cheese and additional toppings. Bake for an additional 5-10 minutes, or until cheese begins to bubble.

IMG_6588

My slice, which immediately broke apart and I ended up eating with a fork.

Enjoy!

Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope you get a chance to try this recipe–I promise, as long as you add the garlic (sorry, Italian here!) you will love it! XOXO Jen

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipe: Cauliflower Crust Pizza! Healthy and Delicious! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

