Homestyler: A Fun, Free Design Tool

May 16, 2014 § Leave a comment

I may be late to the game with this but I recently discovered Autodesk Homestyler, a great site that allows you to create design layouts and plans in 2D and 3D. I was trying to decide if I should learn how to use AutoCAD, which is a design tool professional designers use (fashion, interior design, architects, etc.), but I realized while that would be awesome to add to my resume I really just wanted a fun tool to play and design with! Homestyler is from the same company that produces AutoCAD but its target user is everyday people like you and me which means it’s a lot easier and helps you visualize what you want your room to look like super fast!

Rita's Home office

Rita’s Home office

Once you sign up, you can create a user profile and share your designs with other users. They can “heart” your design (kind of like Instagram) and leave comments, too.

Rafalover's room

Rafalover’s room

You can create a new design from scratch and use real measurements to get the specifications correct (wondering if that couch will fit in your living room?) and you can choose products to place in your room from their huge catalog with brands like Room & Board and Crate & Barrel. The only issue I see so far is that I can’t randomly select an image/product off the internet and include it and it doesn’t have everything from Crate & Barrel, etc. so the options are slightly limited. However for a free tool I think it’s pretty awesome!

Getting Started

Getting Started

I started re-creating my living room but I really won’t be able to play with this software until this weekend. I’m working on redecorating my bathroom and I’m thinking about making some changes in my living room. This tool will be so helpful rather than moving all of my furniture and breaking my back! If you sign up let me know–we can share designs (my username is afreshcoat btw)! I hope you enjoyed this post and as always, thanks for stopping by! XOXO Jen

Me playing around!

Me playing around!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homestyler: A Fun, Free Design Tool at A Fresh Coat.

meta

