Healthy Easter Cookies!

April 17, 2014 § Leave a comment

Hi everyone! Yesterday I went crazy on Pinterest looking for Easter cookie recipes I could make for my family and friends and after about 5 pins, I realized they were all terrible for me! I didn’t want to bring that home to my family or give my friends (who are pretty health-conscious) treats that would not go so well with their normal eating habits so I took a step back and tried to find some healthier cookies to make. I decided upon coconut macaroons and carrot cake cookies. I got the recipe for the macaroons from McCormik’s website and I found the carrot cake cookie recipe on a blog called Hangry Tales which was adapted from another site which I further adapted (and so on and so forth!). Either way, these cookies were both pretty easy to make, albeit I used a lot of bowls for the carrot cake ones, but it was fun and I will feel better about giving them away/taste-testing a few! Hope you enjoy the recipes and as always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat! XOXO Jen

Coconut Macaroons

Serves: Makes about 4 dozen or 22 (2 cookie) servings.

Ingredients

2 packages (7 ounces each) flaked coconut, (about 4 cups)

1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk1

1/2 teaspoons McCormick® Imitation Almond Extract

photo 1-1_2

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Mix coconut, sweetened condensed milk and almond extract in large bowl
    photo 2-1_2
  3. Drop teaspoonfuls of mixture onto greased baking sheets.
    photo 1-1
  4. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.
  5. Immediately remove from baking sheets to wire racks; cool completely.
    Finished Product!

    Finished Product!

    Carrot Cake Cookies 

    Ingredients
    Makes about 12 cookies
    1/2 cup pecans
    1 tablespoon flax seed meal
    1 tablespoon chia seed
    4 tablespoons water
    3/4 cup flour (whole wheat or gluten-free if you want to be healthier)
    3/4 cup oats
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon cinnamon
    2 tablespoons coconut oil
    1/2 cup maple syrup (I forgot this ingredient at the store so I made my own with this recipe)
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1 cup grated carrots (2-3 whole carrots

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, toast the pecans for 7 minutes, turning once halfway through. Chop and set aside.

2. In a small dish, mix the flax seed meal, chia seeds, and water. Set aside.

3. In a food processor or blender (I used my NutriBullet), grind 1/2 cup of oats to a flour. Move to a bowl and stir in the remaining oats, flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

4. In another bowl, melt the coconut oil. Stir in the maple syrup and vanilla.

5. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just combined.

No maple syrup? No problem! Make your own with 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup boiling water and 1 tbsp butter

No maple syrup? No problem! Make your own with 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup boiling water and 1 tbsp butter

6. Fold in the grated carrots and chopped pecans.
photo 2-1_3

 

7. Drop by spoonfuls onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

photo 3_2

8. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.

photo 4_2

cookie

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Healthy Easter Cookies! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

