A Warm Breakfast on a Cold Sat Morning!

November 9, 2013 § 1 Comment

20131109-103136.jpgHappy Saturday everyone! One thing I love about the weekend is that I usually eat a slightly fancier breakfast than I do on the weekdays (cooking in the morning is simply out of the question–I’m a yogurt kind of girl!). Today I decided to use up some apples that were starting to look a bit sad in my fridge and cut them up to add to some oats and it came out so delicious. I tried to make it a little healthier by adding chia seeds and using agave nectar and a dash of honey to sweeten the favor a bit. I know you might be thinking “This isn’t really cooking” but I say if the stove has to be used, it’s cooking! This really is a simple, delicious and healthy meal to start your day with. Here’s what I did in case you’d like to try this our for yourself (I made enough for two people as 1/2 cup of dry oats is considered a single serving):

Ingredients

2 cups water

3 apples, cut in small pieces

3 tablespoons cinnamon

1 cup rolled oats

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon agave nectar

1 tablespoon chia seeds

Directions

Boil the water in a pot and add the cinnamon. Add apples and let cook for about 5 minutes. Add oats, honey, agave nectar and chia seeds and stir. Let cook for 5-7 minutes until desired thickness, stirring occasionally. Enjoy!

As always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat! XOXO Jen

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to A Warm Breakfast on a Cold Sat Morning!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Warm Breakfast on a Cold Sat Morning! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

