His Bed is on his Ceiling!

November 7, 2013 § Leave a comment

Photo by Joe Pugliese

Photo by Joe Pugliese

OK, so I came across this image online (which eventually led me to the Dwell article) and I couldn’t even believe that someone would put their bed on a pulley system on their ceiling–creative, but I would be afraid it would fall on my head if I were sitting below it! When I looked at the image more closely I realized it was Mad Men star Vincent Kartheiser! Really?!? The first thing that came to mind was why would this man who has made it big on a hit TV show live in such a tiny place? His entire LA cabin is 580 square feet, which is about the size of my little place in DC…but I’m a writer lol. Alas, his small space is designed so beautifully by Funn Roberts that the square footage doesn’t even matter because everything is functional and gorgeous! The bed is counterbalanced by a 300lb weight, pictured below, and he and his fiancee just pull it down every night and put it back up every morning (although what do you want to bet that bed stays on the ground during the week! I would be too lazy to pull it up every morning for sure!).

Picture 9

Another really cool thing about the design is that the desk (in the first image in the background) flips up to act as a headboard when the bed is down!

Photo by Joe Pugliese.

Photo by Joe Pugliese.

I thought this was a really cool way to save space that I had to share with you guys! For more images of his awesome home, check out the full article over at Dwell. As always, thanks for reading and have a great day! XOXO Jen

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading His Bed is on his Ceiling! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

