Apple Picking at Hartland Orchard

October 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

A few weeks ago I decided to drive out to Markham, VA, to pick some apples with a friend at Hartland Orchard. It’s a fun fall adventure (despite the fact that it was 80 and sunny the weekend we went) and it’s nice to get out of the city for a few hours and breathe in some fresh air! Although, I must admit it’s a little funny to me that my fellow Washingtonians get such a kick out of these things because I grew up in NJ where picking your own fruit and veggies was the norm! In fact, my childhood home was across the street from apple and peach orchards  my best friend’s family owned so I picked my own fruit quite frequently. I do like to go every year though and I can’t wait to go pick my own pumpkin to carve for Halloween. I’m basically a big kid though so I will probably always love these little fall traditions I have come up with while living in DC. I used my bushel of apples to juice and make some delicious baked apples with oats. Hope you enjoy the pics and as always, thanks for reading a Fresh Coat! XOXO

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Apple Picking at Hartland Orchard at A Fresh Coat.

meta

