Kale Carrot Ginger Curry Soup!

October 7, 2013 § 1 Comment

IMG_4154

So, it may be a mouthful to say but oh my is it deliciousness! Kale Carrot Ginger Curry Soup..yum.

As some of you may know, last year I got really into juicing as a way to eat more fruits and vegetables and work on my fitness overall. Since then, I went from juicing almost daily to only about once a week–but mostly it’s because I’m always cold! I really hate drinking cold juice when it’s chilly outside so I thought I would try my hand at making some different homemade soups as a way to get in my veggies without shivering! I thought of some of my favorite juices and figured I could just add some chicken broth and a few savory ingredients and bam–this soup was born! BTW: Safeway had their chicken broth cartons on sale 2 for $4, so I stocked up this past Friday (they may still be on sale you should check it out! Also, to make this soup vegetarian, substitute the chicken broth with vegetable broth). I completely eye-balled everything but here’s what I can tell you I did to create this soup:

 

Ingredients:

4 cups chicken broth

10 large carrots (peeled, cut into 2 inch pieces)

1/2 of a large vidalia onion (chopped)

1 knuckle of ginger (I love ginger so I added a large piece, about 3 inches; chopped)

3-4 handfulls fresh kale (stems and all–you’re going to blend it so it doesn’t really matter)

4 tablespoons curry powder

2 tablespoons cayenne pepper

 

IMG_4107

IMG_4152_2

 

 

Directions

1. Pour the chicken broth in a pot and heat.

2. Add carrots, onion, ginger, kale and spices and bring to a boil. Once the soup comes to a boil, turn down the heat to low and let simmer about 15-20 minutes, until carrots are soft (I cooked my soup for about 30 minutes on low just to make sure the spices really got absorbed into the veggies).

3. Let soup cool a bit (feel free to pop it in the fridge) and take out your blender (you can also use an immersion blender but it’s really up to you!). *I say to let the soup cool because there have been a handful of times where I have used an immersion blender and have shot scalding hot soup all over myself and my kitchen!

4. Blend soup until smooth and creamy and enjoy. If you want to get a little fancy and add a garnish, I would recommend a dollop of vanilla greek yogurt with some chives chopped and sprinkled on top. Since I was making this soup for my lunch and just myself I didn’t get too fancy lol! I portioned out some lunches in plastic containers and returned the rest of the blend to the pot to re-heat to have some for dinner last night! It was amazing!

Well, if you decide to make this soup let me know what you think! As a disclaimer, I like things pretty spicy so you may want to add more or less curry/cayenne. Also, I didn’t add any salt to this soup because I feel like it doesn’t need it with all the spiciness but, again, taste it and let me know what you think!

As always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat! xoxo

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Kale Carrot Ginger Curry Soup!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kale Carrot Ginger Curry Soup! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

