Washington DC International Design Festival

April 18, 2013 § 1 Comment

Image

image courtesy of Artisphere.com

So, I may be a little late on this one but I am happy to share with you news of DC’s International Design Festival that is happening through May 19th! It’s free-yay!-and you can check out a very cool exhibit at Artisphere in Arlington called “The Next Wave: Industrial Design Innovation in the 21st Century.” It is a 4,000 square-foot collaboration from Apartment Zero‘s co-owner, Douglas Burton, and Artisphere, showcasing over 100 objects (lighting, furniture, eco-friendly products, textiles, etc.) and celebrating designs from all over the globe. There will even be a small retail shop where some of the items on display will be available for purchase.

One of the reasons I’m so excited about this exhibit is because there was a time when I thought I wanted to move to Holland and go to school for Industrial Design (check out the Design Academy in Eindhoven)–it just fascinates me and if I had no bills to pay and could do whatever I want, I think I’d do it! Of course, this was during a time when I had just been laid off and the world was my oyster…now I’m back to the 9-5 grind but you never know…design school isn’t going anywhere!

If you decide to check it out let me know what you think! Here a few cool, free events you can check out as well (I am thinking I will def go to the May 15th one!):

OH SAY CAN’T YOU SEE: What Happened to American Design? 
Sat April 20 / 5–6:30pm; Q&A and reception to follow / Free / Dome Theatre 

ROBERTO PALOMBA: Italian Industrial Designer 
Wed May 15 / 6pm; Talk + tour with reception to follow / Free / Terrace Gallery 

As always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat! XOXO

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Washington DC International Design Festival

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Washington DC International Design Festival at A Fresh Coat.

meta

