Lower-Fat Homemade Biscuits

January 12, 2013 § 1 Comment

Image

Hi everyone! I always love a Saturday, especially when I get a lot of things accomplished and also have time to cook something really good and healthy. Today, I made chili but decided that I needed some carbs to go with it and I’ve never made homemade biscuits before so I thought I’d give it a try. I adapted a recipe I found on Food.com so it has slightly fewer calories–basically I replaced the shortening with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter and used skim milk instead of whole milk. These were super quick to make and incredibly delicious–if you try it out, enjoy! As always, thanks for reading!

Ingredients

2 cups flower, sifted
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
3 tablespoons I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter
3/4 cup skim milk

Directions:

1
Sift flour with baking powder and salt.
2
Cut in shortening till mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
3
Add milk all at once and mix till mixture follows fork around bowl.

Image
4
Turn out on lightly floured board.
5
Knead gently for about 1/2 minute.

Image
6
Roll or pat 1/2 inch thick.
7
Flour rim of glass or biscuit cutter and cut out biscuits.

Image
8
Put on (ungreased) cookie sheet and bake at 450° for 12 to 15 minutes.Image

Tagged:

§ One Response to Lower-Fat Homemade Biscuits

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lower-Fat Homemade Biscuits at A Fresh Coat.

meta

