Shecky’s Girls Night Out at DAR Constitution Hall

September 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

Hey everyone! I thought I’d write up a quick review of an event I attended last night in DC–the ever popular Shecky’s Girls Night Out. I’ve known about these events for a while but have never attended before so I thought I’d give it a whirl this time around! I snagged a google offer for a $15 ticket ($30 value) and decided to walk the 1.5 miles from my house to the hall. First, that was a bad idea considering the humidity in DC was at about 90%, so I arrived slightly disheveled! However, I was happy to find that the air conditioning was at full blast and despite the crowd, it was nice and cool inside.
My first impression was that it felt a bit like a flea market. I was expecting some glam, pizazz, sparkling booths and awesome tables….but not so much. Some of the vendors were very low quality and were selling “vintage” pieces at ridiculous price-points. The biggest offender was a worn, tattered red suede “authentic” Prada bag that had to be at least 15 years old. The asking price was $500! Wow. I’d tell you the name of the vendor but about 80% of the tables didn’t have the shop names on display at all.
There were a lot of jewelry booths reminiscent of the ones you find on NYC streets, full of over-sized, cheap, gaudy stuff. Now, don’t get me wrong–I enjoy a fun piece but it just felt like the selection was a bit over the top!
So, let’s talk clothes–ugh! I only found one booth where I absolutely loved the clothes but the rest seemed as if they were trying to clean out their summer wardrobe and the room smelled of cheap polyester! (OK, as I write this Im realizing I was completely disappointed with the event overall!)
I did manage to purchase a silver ring with a black stone for an awesome deal-$15-but other than that I’d say this Shecky’s was a flop. It’s probably why they cancelled the second night of the event!
The goodie bag they gave out was also a disappointment. It included a greeting card, personal lubricant, a package of Soft Lips (OK, I actually like that brand of Chapstick), a bunch of Stevia and press-on nails! That’s right, I said press-on nails! What adult woman wears those?! I also felt jipped because my girlfriends all got three greeting cards and I only got one 😦
So what did I like about Shecky’s? Well, the only fun part was the social aspect (and my cool ring)! It was great being around awesome ladies and sharing a cocktail or two while browsing. I don’t think I will ever go to another Shecky’s event again but I’m glad I at least experienced it for myself!
Hopefully, tonight’s Fashion Night Out (FNO) in Georgetown will make up for the terrible shopping experience I had last night!
As always, thanks for reading! XO

20120906-163036.jpg

20120906-163047.jpg

20120906-163056.jpg

20120906-163116.jpg

20120906-163127.jpg

20120906-163146.jpg

20120906-163156.jpg

20120906-163137.jpg

20120906-163206.jpg

20120906-163107.jpg

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shecky’s Girls Night Out at DAR Constitution Hall at A Fresh Coat.

meta

