Beach Chic!

June 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

Interior Design by Kim Dempster and Erin Martin; Photograph by Alec Hemer

The current issue of House Beautiful has an awesome “chic little beach house” designed by Kim Dempster and Erin Martin that I fell in love with! I think it’s funny how they say 1, 650 square feet is small but I guess when you’re used to large homes, it is! What I loved most about this house was how the designers managed to make a beach-themed decor look amazingly un-cheesy! Every time I rent a beach house it’s full of flip-flop and shell- themed items and is plagued by ugly colors (granted, this may also be due to my budget) such as seafoam green. My favorite part about this house, though, is the coffee table that was made from an old nautical chain. It’s such a great idea and gives the room a touch of roughness without taking away from the elegance of the French furniture. It got me wondering–where can I find some beach-themed decor without going overboard?

When I think of the beach, I think of the the soothing natural colors that come from the ocean and the sand. I like to stick to blues, creams, whites and the like. Here are a few of my favorite items I would use to design a beach retreat that’s easy on the eyes:

1. Whale Shark, Z Gallerie, $140

Whale Shark, Z Gallerie

2. Ocean Wall Hooks, Grandin Road, $29

Rope Wall Hook, Grandin Road

3. Seagrass Mirror, Kenroy Home/Lighting Direct, $207

Seagrass Mirror, Kenroy Home

4. Shell Vase Filler, Pottery Barn, $12.99 (on sale)

Shell Vase Filler, Pottery Barn

5. Thomas Paul Seafarer Shipped Pillow, $78 or the Crab Flax Pillow, $88; both available at Design Public

Thomas Paul Seafarer Shipped Pillow, Design Public

Thomas Paul Crab Flax Pillow, Design Public

What is your dream beach house decor? Are you a fan of bright colors or do you like a more natural theme? I’d love to know–and if you have pictures, remember sharing is caring 🙂  As always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat and I hope to see you soon! XOXO

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beach Chic! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

