Justin Timberlake Rocks Out a New Home Design Line! What?!

April 18, 2012 § Leave a comment

When I heard mumblings a few days ago via Elle Decor that Justin Timberlake was starting a home design line I was shocked–I pegged him for more of a fashion-type guy, an actor and a musician but I never thought he’d be making his way to home goods. He recently unveiled HomeMint, which is an online store that will sell various home products from cutting boards to rugs. The project is a collaboration with Timberlake’s interior designer, Estee Stanley, and launches this May. The catch is that there is a $10 fee to join the website and so far, I don’t really see the benefit in becoming a member (unless you want to say you own something JT designed because you love him that much!).

Some of the pieces that are previewed in the Elle Decor article are nice but they seem a bit expensive, despite a quote from JT saying he thinks home design should be affordable and not break the bank. I wasn’t expecting Ikea prices but for three of their Lollipop stackable stools it will run you $1000 if you are not a member and $750 if you are. I’m not sure how they can justify charging that much more for the same product to non-members–doesn’t it just scream “I’m not worth this much money!”? It’s a sad fact that furniture is right behind jewelry in terms of being marked up a ton and I can’t vouch for the quality of the pieces in this line since I haven’t seen or touched any of them but so far, I’m not sold. If I want to experience a sale-like auction of home goods online, I can just click over to One Kings Lane for free and check out interesting pieces on sale. I think I’m just really turned off by this member fee and “benefits,” when so many other online sites are around and free. Now, non-members can purchase items, as I mentioned earlier but they will just have to pay the premium for them. Doesn’t seem fair to me! I was really excited at first to check out this line because I really like JT and think he’s a creative person that could possibly come up with something cool for the home…I guess I was just hoping it would be a little more attainable to the crowd he’s most likely to attract (eh hem..those of us who are young enough to appreciate his former glory days in Nsync…but still not old enough to be able to afford high-end luxury items).

I guess for now I will await the actual launch of the line before I pass too harsh of a judgement on it (OK, I guess I already did) but maybe they can change my mind if they have some super fantastical interesting items I haven’t seen before. Here’s hoping. For now, I’ll say that maybe JT should stick to music and acting and leave the design arena to someone else!

As always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat! Leave a comment and let me know what you think about HomeMint! XOXO

All photos via Elle Decor and random online searches of JT from his Nsync days 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Justin Timberlake Rocks Out a New Home Design Line! What?! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

