It’s Been a While (Personal Post)

February 23, 2012 § 2 Comments

Hello A Fresh Coat readers! I am so sorry that I have been gone for the last month. It’s been difficult for me to write this blog as I have been mourning the loss of a great friend, Gianny Gomes. I met Gianny when I first moved to NYC in what seems like forever ago. Although time brought us to different parts of the world–me in DC and her back to her hometown in Brazil–we kept in touch and I truly cherished our relationship (thank goodness for Skype!). Unfortunately, Gianny suffered from depression and decided to take her own life. It was a huge hit to all of her family and friends and I was so sad that she felt as though that was her only option. Depression is a serious disease and effects thousands of people and if left untreated or improperly treated, suicide is an unfortunate decision many of those effected decide to make. I think in light of this tragedy, I decided to make a few changes with the way I live my life. I decided that I need to try and wake up with a daily appreciation for the things I have and the people I have and love in my life. I also decided that I needed to take some steps to live a healthier life and have been consumed with juicing and working out over the past month. It has paid off, as I feel great and have lost about 15lbs. Exercise is also a great way to deal with stress–and even depression! I miss Gianny daily but realize that the break I have taken from some of the things I love–like writing this blog–has got to stop! So, I am going to come back strong and hopefully have some great ideas coming your way. Also, I have a trip to Brussels in April and  a friend’s wedding in June so you may see some travel and wedding-themed posts in the near future.

I am curious as to what you all have been up to this last month! It’s been so long since I’ve logged in I almost forgot my password. Please say hi, feel free to share ideas and I promise the blog will be kept “light” after this post. I really felt like I needed to share what has been going on in my life and why I haven’t been around.

XO

jen

Gi and I at one of our favorite brunch spots. Miss you!

§ 2 Responses to It’s Been a While (Personal Post)

  • Bridget says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss, Jen. So sad to lose a friend this way. Though the storms of life shake and buffet us, our friends and family ties keep us grounded and facing into the wind. She may be gone, but she left behind memories in your heart. May those memories sustain you. Thinking of you with love and prayers.

  • Judy says:

    I’m so sorry about your friend. It’s good to have you back.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Been a While (Personal Post) at A Fresh Coat.

meta

