Nuts for Acorns! Handmade Finds for Your Thanksgiving Table & Decor!

November 23, 2011 § 1 Comment

OK, I realize that hed is cheesy but as I was walking home the other day I stepped on an acorn and it was like I stepped back into my childhood. Growing up in the Pinelands of New Jersey I was surrounded by acorns, pine cones and trees as far as the eye could see–I had a “forest” in my backyard for goodness sake! Now, I prefer cement and less bugs to too many trees but I appreciate the time I spent in nature as a child and I love heading home (most of the time!) for the holidays.

Crunching that acorn beneath my feet made me think of home and that if I were hosting my own Thanksgiving this year, I’d love to bring some natural elements–like acorns–into my decorating theme. I wanted to share some of my favorites with you today.

The first thing I found were these beautiful handmade Acorn Cap Floating Candles by Worleys on Etsy, 10 for $10. They would look gorgeous as a centerpiece or maybe floating around on top of a fireplace mantel.

Better Homes & Gardens had a wonderful DIY idea–use acorns and leaves to make beautiful pictures/picture-frames. They are uber-Thanksgiving and would be a great craft to do with kids!

Another cute DIY is this cozy knit napkin ring! I found the How-To online at Knitting Paradise that has the pattern and instructions. I’m not so much a fan of the green acorn but you can change that if you make them! If you have a kitschy style, these would be a great addition to a mismatch of funky decor.

What would Thanksgiving be without wine?! OK, truth-be-told, my family doesn’t drink at all so these  darling wine charms from Fairyfolk would never be on my mom’s table but they sure would be on mine! The set of 6 includes felt and wood acorns, each a different color so your guests will be able to recognize their drink no matter where they set it down ($20 for the set). I just LOVE these!

I hope you all enjoyed this post and I especially hope that if you are traveling on this wonderful Thanksgiving Eve that you stay safe! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit A Fresh Coat and I hope you come back again soon! If you get a minute, please head on over to our Facebook page and give us a “Like.” Thanks again and I’ll see you all soon! XOXO

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Nuts for Acorns! Handmade Finds for Your Thanksgiving Table & Decor!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nuts for Acorns! Handmade Finds for Your Thanksgiving Table & Decor! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

