Xfinity=Fail…But I’m Back! And So Is The Mini-Kitchen Makeover!

October 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

Hello! So sorry I didn’t get to post the rest of the kitchen pictures but my Xfinity internet decided to go out on me for the fourth time in one week. In the past couple of weeks I have turned my little apartment around and gave it a mini-facelift. I’ve lived here for a little over two years now and I really can’t rearrange furniture because of the layout so I decided to replace my desk (with a great antique find!), get some new curtains and paint my kitchen table that fits perfectly in my tiny space but was in desperate need of a facelift.

Now, I’m definitely all about sheer curtains in a kitchen and living space because I like as much light as possible, but now that the weather is getting chilly I wanted something that would keep the wind out of my very old house! I have gotten almost all of my curtains at this great shop in Vineland, NJ, called Marburn Curtain Warehouse. They have the best curtains at discount prices and the staff is always so helpful! One clerk saved me from buying the same curtains from two different dye lots one time (whew! driving back to NJ to return curtains is not high on my to-do list). I got an antique secretary desk from a woman in Falls Church, VA, on Craigslist for $25! I rushed out to her house, where she admitted she should have charged more because she didn’t know so many people would be interested in it. Luckily, I left my cell number with her, she called me, I rushed home from work and out to grab it before anyone else could! The desk is over 100 years old and belonged to her grandfather (the woman was in her late 50’s). Here’s the final setup:

New "office" with antique desk, closed

New "office" with desk open

Now, on to the kitchen table: I took the same steps with the table and chair as I did with the yard sale find chair in my last post (sand, base paint, sand, acrylic white semi-gloss paint). The table and chair took a bit more time because of all of the grooves in the legs and the fact that the table folds down on both sides. But I think the end result came out great and I only spent around $60 on paint and supplies (sandpaper, paintbrush).

Table Before

Table After

I still may put some sort of top coat on the table but I wanted to see how it did without anything for a couple of weeks first and if paint starts chipping, then I’ll add something! I had a lot of fun with these little projects and feel like I have a new side of my apartment! Thanks for checking out my post and again so sorry I’ve been “offline” (ok, I’m sure no one was really crying over this too much except me but I thought I’d extend my apologies anyhow!).

Please let me know what you think and if you have any projects you’ve been working on, I’d love to know about them. You can email me at jenatafreshcoat@gmail.com. Thanks so much for reading and I hope you have a wonderful rest of your weekend! xoxo

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Xfinity=Fail…But I’m Back! And So Is The Mini-Kitchen Makeover!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Xfinity=Fail…But I’m Back! And So Is The Mini-Kitchen Makeover! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

