Yard Sale Find, Take 2: The Chair Gets A Makeover!

September 27, 2011 § 4 Comments

the original yard sale find

A little while ago, I shared a post about an awesome chair I got at a yard sale for $5. I absolutely fell in love with the lines of the chair and knew I could give it a fresh coat of paint, a quick reupholster and breathe new life into it! It inspired me to makeover my kitchen table and the one lone chair that has survived since my parents gifted me the set when I moved after college. I knew I could buy a new table but mine fits so well in my tiny apartment I figured there was no reason to give it up, especially when it still serves its function just fine. Today I’m going to share the yard sale makeover with you but tomorrow I’ll reveal the complete new look!

Here’s what you need:

sandpaper

a base paint

an acrylic semi-gloss white paint

a paintbrush (I’d recommend a medium-priced brush–if you go too cheap you’ll see the lines in your finish)

a screwdriver

fabric

scissors

staple gun/staples

1. First, I unscrewed the seat cushion from the frame of the chair and set it aside.

2.Then, I sanded down every nook and cranny of the chair. I wanted to make sure the base coat would go on nice and smooth and completely cover the dark brown.

cushion removed, chair sanded

3. Next, I painted the base coat on the chair. After it dried I added another coat, just to be sure I got every spot.

base coat on

4. Once the paint dried, I sanded the chair again (lightly). Then I applied the acrylic white semi-gloss paint. I did two coats mostly because one I did with the chair face up and one I did with the chair face down. I have a very small space to work in so I had to be very patient when it came to painting!

5. Next, I got out my awesome faux leather fabric I scored from G Street Fabrics in the sale bin ($8.49/yard!), my scissors and staple gun/staples.

the seat and fabric ready to be united!

It only took me about 15 minutes to cover the chair…there were just a few crevices that proved to be slightly problematic but I managed to make it work!

reupholstering time!

6. Once the seat was covered, I placed it on the chair and screwed it back into place.

And just like that, my yard sale find looked like $100! I was very happy with the way it turned out and can’t wait to share the rest of my new kitchen set with you tomorrow!

finito!

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Yard Sale Find, Take 2: The Chair Gets A Makeover!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yard Sale Find, Take 2: The Chair Gets A Makeover! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

