I Spy! Let’s Chat About A Totally Awesome Mirror In The Hotel Monaco

August 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

photo courtesy of Hotel Monaco

I was perusing around the other day and spotted this really cool puzzle piece mirror in the lobby at the Hotel Monaco in Washington, DC.  I had to know more about it, so I contacted Kimpton Hotels (which the Monaco is a part of) and got the skinny. The mirror was custom made by Derapage Design in San Francisco and was designed in collaboration with the designer of the hotel’s décor, Cheryl Rowley Design. It has 24K gold edging, is 36 1/2″ high and 42 1/2″ wide
and is lightly aged (and did I mention, awesome?!). I also learned that you used to be able to purchase one just like it on the Kimpton Style website for around $5,000 but unfortunately it is no longer available. If you want this baby for your great room, you’ll have to get it custom made! I thought it was so different and coupled with the bright green walls, red couches and black and white curtains it was so wrong to me it seemed right (if that makes any sense at all to you)!

photo courtesy of Hotel Monaco

What do you guys think of this mirror? What about the design of the lobby here? Overall, I really like the design of this hotel and it’s in such a great location you have to stop in. If you’re not up for a stay, at least walk around a little and then get a cocktail at Poste Modern Brasserie outside on the patio while it’s still nice out! They have homemade ice cream sandwiches, so that’s enough right there for me.

If you have any favorite hotels I’d love to hear about them! As always, thanks for reading A Fresh Coat and please come back again! xo

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Spy! Let’s Chat About A Totally Awesome Mirror In The Hotel Monaco at A Fresh Coat.

meta

