DesignStar Casting Call in DC (and other random musings…)

August 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today I was checking out the Washington Design Center’s blog and saw this great post–HGTV is casting for DesignStar in DC on Tues. Aug. 9th, from 10am-2pm at The Westin City Center (1400 M St NW). If you’re not in DC you can enter online as well but I thought it was really exciting that they are coming to DC!

Now, I’m no professional designer by any means but I do think I have good taste! I sometimes wish I had a little more experience in design (it’s always easier when you have a budget to work with!) and I am thinking that I might try to get a little on-the-side experience while in DC. I’m feeling motivated and would love to help some uninspired condo-owners in the DC area! Living in a very, very tiny apartment for the last two years has made me appreciate functional pieces that also look good. My current home decor is a mix of vintage, craigslist bargains and new purchases but my apartment has been described as welcoming, homey and vintage modern so I think I’ll take that!

Here’s a quick look at my (slightly messy) but very functional office nook in my living room. The chair is vintage (aka, an elderly woman had this chair on her porch in Philly and when I walked by looking at it, she came out to tell me I could have it. I wheeled it 4 blocks back to my apartment!); the cat pillow was a gift; I sewed the blue pillow myself; the desk and lamp are from Ikea; the curtain is from Marshall’s; the painting is from an artist my boyfriend met on the street in Ghana; the firescreen is from Home Depot and the rest is just my mess of papers (aka, things to file, write about, etc.). I’m still working on finding my perfect desk to replace this one but I thought I’d share a little piece of my apartment with you, so I hope you enjoy!

My home office!


Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DesignStar Casting Call in DC (and other random musings…) at A Fresh Coat.

meta

