Happy Memorial Day! My weekend of DC fun …

May 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

I hope you all have enjoyed your long weekend! I had to work today but I did manage to squeeze in a bunch of fun activities in the area this weekend! This past Friday I headed down straight after work to the Navy Yard metro and made my way to Yard’s Park. If you’re familiar with the Jazz in the Garden series at the Sculpture Garden downtown then you’ll definitely love the concerts at Yard’s Park! It was really beautiful and sort of reminded me of Long Island City in NY (you know, where the famous red Pepsi-Cola sign in?!) because the area is still being developed but is full of new condos, restaurants, and the park provides an amazing spot to sit by the water. There’s a huge grassy area and everyone was out–adults, kids, dogs, grandama and grandpa–it was really fun. I brought a blanket to sit on but there were a ton of tables and chairs throughout the area so I didn’t even need to use it! There is also a fun bridge and a covered area you can sit under in case it rains. The theme of the night was salsa and thereweasel a group of about 15-20 people rockin’ it out by the stage. They did advertise BBQ and sangria and a bunch of different vendors but they had two drink tents and crepes and Italian sausage (I was a little disappointed by the lack of BBQ because, being Memorial Day weekend it just felt right). Overall it was a great evening, except for the storm that came out of nowhere during the last half hour of the event (it’s from 6-8pm every Friday until Aug. 18th). If you have a Friday evening free I recommend you check it out!
/>
20110530-105607.jpg

20110530-105818.jpg

20110530-110137.jpg

20110530-110936.jpg

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Memorial Day! My weekend of DC fun … at A Fresh Coat.

meta

