Perfect Pillows

April 19, 2011 § 1 Comment

One of my favorite things to do when the weather gets warmer is to take inventory of my decor and think about ways to freshen up my apartment. Usually, I look to new window treatments and pillows since I’m a renter and can’t do too much with a place that isn’t mine. I also purposefully purchased a tan couch so I could add pops of colors to suit the seasons and my mood.

Today when I opened my inbox I was pleasantly surprised to see some new designs from West Elm! Over the last two years I’ve been slightly disappointed with their lack of color in their bedding and linens, a quality I first loved about them when I discovered the brand about 5 years ago (remember when lime green was so hot?!). I was very happy to see some new pillows, above. The lourdes sánchez whales pillow cover, $34, caught my eye and I love how it’s whimsical and can fit with a variety of decor styles. While I think coral is overdone sometimes I find myself always thinking it looks chic when done right and I think it looks amazing paired with the whale pillow!

I’m also a huge fan of nature-inspired linens and anything that has to do with trees! I put together a collage of some of my favorite new spring pillows, above. With the anticipation of the new CB2 opening next week in Georgetown, I thought I’d scour their site to find some new products and found the Albero pillow, which is on sale online right now for $14.95! I mean, who doesn’t love a great, bold graphic to brighten up the room?!

In the spirit of Easter, I found this adorable yet cool Thomas Paul Bunny linen pillow, $80 at Design Public. They have it in blue, pink and yellow–and I think is a perfect way to add a little holiday to your room.

Since I just can’t seem to get Africa out of my head these days, I was drawn to the two pillows in the center. The pillow with the lions on the right is available at Anthropologie for (gasp) $148 and is a bit steep but I really like the concept. And of course, the elephant pillow is another amazing creation by Thomas Paul, $120 (I think I love everything TP). The peacock pillow, Iridescent Plumage, will set you back $128, but I don’t think I’ve ever met something with all the gorgeous colors of a peacock that I didn’t like. Oh Anthro, why are you so expensive?!

I don’t know about you but I can’t wait to get my spring cleaning started and head out to the stores to see how I can brighten up my space to match the sunny days ahead!

Do you have a favorite pillow? I’d love to hear about your favorite designer, shop or if you’ve made any yourself! I attempted this a few years ago and I still have the pillows on my couch to this day…but it’s time to get something new in here! As always, thanks for reading and I look forward to hearing from you. Check back soon for a new post featuring some items I found in Cameroon!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Perfect Pillows

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Perfect Pillows at A Fresh Coat.

meta

