Back from Cameroon, Africa!

April 11, 2011 § 6 Comments

Hello Fresh Coat readers! I’m happy to say, I’m back safe and sound from my trip to Cameroon, a country in West Africa. I was there for a little over two weeks and I had the most amazing experience of my life! I fell in love with Cameroon and all that “mini Africa” has to offer. I trekked through a rainforest in Korup National Park, visited a primate sanctuary in Limbe, saw the black sand beaches of Limbe  (caused by lava from the volcanic eruptions of Mount Cameroon), went to a remote village called Tali and much more I plan on sharing later.

But first, I’d like to show you the house I stayed at while in Tali. The people were so welcoming and even gave up an entire room for me to sleep in. The house was made of sand and clay and had a great room filled with Cameroonian furniture. The rooms all went off this main area, where the family spends most of their time out of the hot sun. The decor is minimal but the craftsmanship of the furniture is spectacular. I actually had the chance to see some people building the furniture, from sanding down the wood to upholstering the almost-finished product.

outside shot of the house

close-up shot of the some chairs in the great room, along with a stenciled painting on the wall

my room

gorgeous door to my room

the pole in the center of the room represents the status of the head of the family; according to the owner, this was the highest level of honor in their village

me trying traditional palm-wine for the first time (notice, it's still full...that stuff is strong!)

we were given a warm welcome, filled with songs and dancing!

our ride

The road to Tali was long and overall it was a difficult journey due to the dirt roads, which at points were all mud, but it was one of my favorite experiences I had while there. The reason I went was because my boyfriend (who is from Cameroon) had to attend a memorial service for his great-grandfather. The mood definitely wasn’t somber though and people came from all over the world to be there. It was a beautiful experience and I’m so thankful for being a part of it. My boyfriend’s aunt even sewed me a dress to wear to the occasion.

Thanks so much for waiting-out my long absence and I am excited to share more of my travels with you, as well as some of the amazing things I found while there. I’ll also be posting some spring inspirations in the next couple of posts so be on the lookout!

me and Tambe's aunt in our special-occasion dresses--what a fantastic seamstress she is!

goodbye, Tali!

§ 6 Responses to Back from Cameroon, Africa!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back from Cameroon, Africa! at A Fresh Coat.

meta

