Make Your Own Goddess Costume

November 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays because of the costumes! However, I tend to be on the thrifty side and don’t like to spend an arm and a leg on a costume so this year I decided to make it myself! I don’t own a sewing machine (insert sad face here) but I can do a simple stitch on my own and if there’s glitter involved, I’m so down! I had a pair of curtains in a beautiful deep magenta that I thought would make a perfect goddess dress and I happened to stumble across a very inspriational makeup video on youtube that made me decide I needed to be a goddess (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gp_D6Hhglic)–easy costume to make, and the makeup is the really fun part!

Here’s what I used:

1.Old set of curtains I was no longer using (free)

2. Michaels: gold craft glue (non-toxic), golden jewels, crystal jewels, safety pins, golden leaves/flowers (about $30)

3. CVS: False Eyelashes (about $7 for the starter kit)

4. Target: gold-glitter belt ($12), Milani “Bronze Doll” eyeshadow ($5.99)

5. Other makeup/accessories: bronzer, eyeliner, Cover Girl eyeshadow and mascara and bobby pins from my everyday makeup kit

6. Bronzer: Fake Bake Mousse, $25.95, fakebake.com (this was an extra treat and I plan on using this product a lot over the holidays!)

7. Other craft supplies I had handy: black wire, glue gun

The process:

The dress: this was SO easy! I took one curtain and folded it in half, then wrapped it around my body. I placed the safety pins where the dress needed to close, slid it off (carefully!) and sewed along the body and the bottom to make seams. Then, I put the curtains inside out and-BAM-body of dress was done! Don’t get me wrong, the hand-sewing took some time (OK, about three hours) but it was well worth it! I didn’t want the dress to come apart in the middle of the party!

Obviously, this was just a curtain wrapped around me and had no real waist, which is where the belt came in! I slipped the dress back on, put the belt on and just like that, my dress had a waist. I thought I needed an extra layer of fabric around me to give the dress a more etherial look so I cut another piece of fabric and pinned it around my hips to give the dress some flow. Then I took the second curtain and made a wrap–I literally wrapped it around my shoulders, set with a safety pin and put a golden leaf on top of the pin to hide it.

The crown: I took the golden leaves, attached some to bobby pins and placed in my hair and tied a crown with the black wire. I glued separate leaves where the black wire was showing.

The makeup: I loosely used the Youtube video as inspiration but I was very sad when I realized the golden craft glue I bought was more clear than golden, so my eyebrows were just normal. I did use the glue to place the jewels on my forehead though so that was good!

And, that was my costume. All it took was a little planning and about a day to put everything together. My friends and I went to the Historical Society Party in DC and had a blast! Hope your Halloween was fun, too!

I’m still getting the adding pictures thing down, but here’s a selection from the night! Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Make Your Own Goddess Costume at A Fresh Coat.

meta

